The Certosa di San Martino (Italian St. Martin's Charterhouse) is a former monastery complex, now a museum, in Naples, southern Italy. Along with Castel Sant'Elmo that stands beside it, this is the most visible landmark of the city, perched atop the Vomero hill that commands the gulf. A Carthusian monastery, it was finished and inaugurated under the rule of Queen Joan I in 1368. It was dedicated to St. Martin of Tours. During the first half of the 16th century it was expanded. Later, in 1623, it was further expanded and became, under the direction of architect Cosimo Fanzago, essentially the structure one sees today.
In the early 19th century, under French rule the monastery was closed and was abandoned by the religious order. Today, the buildings house a museum with a display of Spanish and Bourbon era artifacts, as well as displays of the presepe--Nativity scene—considered to be among the finest in the world.
The Royal Palace of Naples is located in central Naples, southern Italy.
It was one of the four residences near Naples used by the Bourbon Kings during their rule of the Kingdom of Two Sicilies (1730-1860): the others were the palaces of Caserta, Capodimonte overlooking Naples, and the third Portici, on the slopes of Vesuvius.
Santa Chiara is a religious complex in Naples, southern Italy, that includes the Church of Santa Chiara, a monastery, tombs and an archeological museum.
Naples Cathedral (Italian: Duomo di Napoli, Cattedrale di Santa Maria Assunta or Cattedrale di San Gennaro) is a Roman Catholic cathedral, the main church of Naples, southern Italy, and the seat of the Archbishop of Naples. It is widely known as the Cattedrale di San Gennaro, in honour of Saint Januarius, the city's patron saint, but is actually dedicated to the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary.
The Naples National Archaeological Museum (Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Napoli) is a museum in Naples, southern Italy, at the northwest corner of the original Greek wall of the city of Neapolis. The museum contains a large collection of Roman artifacts from Pompeii, Stabiae and Herculaneum. The collection includes works of the highest quality produced in Greek, Roman and Renaissance times. It is the most important Italian archaeological museum.
Museo di Capodimonte is located in the Palace of Capodimonte, a grand Bourbon palazzo in Naples, Italy. The museum is the prime repository of Neapolitan painting and decorative art, with several important works from other Italian schools of painting, and some important Ancient Roman sculptures.
Galleria Umberto I is a public shopping gallery in Naples, southern Italy. It is located directly across from the San Carlo opera house. It was built between 1887–1891, and was the cornerstone in the decades-long rebuilding of Naples — called the risanamento (lit. "making healthy again") — that lasted until World War I. It was designed by Emanuele Rocco, who employed modern architectural elements reminiscent of the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II in Milan. The Galleria was named for Umberto I, King of Italy at the time of construction. It was meant to combine businesses, shops, cafes and social life — public space — with private space in the apartments on the third floor.
The Galleria is a high and spacious cross-shaped affair surmounted by a glass dome braced by 16 metal ribs. Of the four glass-vaulted wings, one fronts on via Toledo (via Roma), still the main downtown thoroughfare, and another opens onto the San Carlo Theater. It has returned to being an active center of Neapolitan civic life after years of decay.
The Galleria Umberto is the setting for The Gallery (1947) by the American writer John Horne Burns (1916–1953) based on his experiences as an American soldier in Naples shortly after the liberation of the city.
Castel Nuovo (Italian: "New Castle"), often called Maschio Angioino, is a medieval castle in the city of Naples, southern Italy. It is the main symbol of the architecture of the city, and has been expanded or renovated several times since it was first begun in 1279.
Palazzo Serra di Cassano is a building in Naples, Italy, built for the wealthy Serra Family, one of the original 54 families of the 'old nobility' of Genoa, whose family was organized within an Albergo (family). The family insignia (crest) is frescoed on the ceiling of the Palazzo Serra's Great Hall. The family had economic interests in banking, insurance & law.
The Palazzo is behind the Piazza del Plebiscito on via Monte di Dio, the road leading up to the height of the Pizzofalcone peak. It was built in 1730 by the architect, Ferdinando Sanfelice, also responsible for the construction of the nearby Nunziatella, the Bourbon Military Academy founded in the days of the Kingdom of Naples, and still in operation.
Both the Duke of Cassano and the Palazzo Serra were known throughout Europe for their superb library. In the 19th Century that collection was sold to the Viscount Spencer. It is located today at Althorp, the country home and final resting place of Diana Spencer Windsor, Princess of Wales and at The Rylands Library, Manchester University, England.
The dual portals of the palace entrance, on the via Monte di Dio, open onto twin curved stairways leading up over an octagonal courtyard. The building originally had entrances on two different streets; the entrance that formerly opened onto via Egiziaca, facing the Royal Palace, was closed many years ago in 1799. The owner, Luigi Francesco Serra, The Duke of Cassano, closed it to protest the execution (beheading) of his son, Gennaro Serra. Gennaro, the Prince of Cassano, was said to be involved in the revolutionary activities of the Neapolitan Republic, and was handed over to Bourbon authorities by Admiral Horatio Nelson, who betrayed an agreement he had made with the revolutionaries.
Gennaro Serra's mother Giulia Carafa Serra, the Duchess of Cassano, was also suspected in the revolutionary plot and was banished from Naples for a period of seven years.
The building today houses the Istituto Italiano per gli Studi Filosofici (Italian Institute for Philosophical Studies).
The Palazzo Doria d’Angri is an historic building and monument in Naples in southern Italy. It was begun by Luigi Vanvitelli on commission of Marcantonio Doria and was finished by the architect's son Carlo Vanvitelli in the late 18th century. Decorative work was done by many of the same artists who worked on the great Royal Palace in Caserta.
The building plays an important role in the history of Naples and of Italy in that it was from the balcony of this building that Giuseppe Garibaldi proclaimed the annexation of the Kingdom of Two Sicilies (The Kingdom of Naples) to the Kingdom of Italy on September 7, 1860, after his triumphant campaign from Sicily to Naples.
Castel Capuano is a castle in Naples, southern Italy. It takes its name from the fact that it was at that point in the city walls where the road led out to the city of Capua. The castle is at the east end of via dei Tribunali and until recently housed the Naples Hall of Justice, which has now moved to the new Civic Center, the Centro Direzionale.
The structure was built in the 12th century by William I, the son of Roger II of Sicily, the first monarch of the Kingdom of Naples. It was expanded by Frederick II of Hohenstaufen and became one of his royal palaces. In the 16th century, under the Spanish viceroyship of Pedro Álvarez de Toledo, all of the city's various legal offices and departments were consolidated here and it became the Hall of Justice - known as the "Vicaria" - the basements of which served as a prison. Over the entrance to the castle is still visible the crest of Emperor Charles V, who visited Naples in 1535.
The castle has undergone many restorations, one as recent as 1860, and no longer retains much of its original appearance.
Castel Sant'Elmo is a medieval fortress located on a hilltop near the Certosa di San Martino, overlooking Naples, Italy. The name "Sant'Elmo" derives from a former 10th-century church, Sant'Erasmo, shortened to "Ermo" and, finally altered to "Elmo". It presently serves as a museum, exhibition hall, and offices.
San Francesco di Paola is a church in Naples, southern Italy. It is located at the west side of Piazza del Plebiscito, the city's main square.
In the early 19th century, King Joachim Murat of Naples (Napoleon's brother-in-law) planned the entire square and the large building with the colonnades as a tribute to the emperor. When Napoleon was finally dispatched, the Bourbons were restored to the throne of Naples. Ferdinand I continued the construction - finished in 1816 - but converted the final product into the church one sees today. He dedicated it to Saint Francis of Paola, who had stayed in a monastery on this site in the 16th century.
The church is reminiscent of the Pantheon in Rome. The façade is fronted by a portico resting on six columns and two Ionic pillars. Inside, the church is circular with two side chapels. The dome is 53 metres high.
San Paolo Maggiore is a basilica church in Naples, southern Italy, and the burial place of Gaetano Thiene, known as Saint Cajetan, founder of the Order of Clerics Regular (or Theatines).
The coral and cameos jewellery museum Ascione was opened in Naples in Galleria Umberto I in one of the most beautiful and attractive places in the city, opposite the opera-Teatro di San Carlo and near the Royal Palace of Naples, enjoying a wonderful view of Vesuvius. Here you can visit also a museum founded as a tribute to the past generations engaged in this successful activity. It also includes a didactic and an artistic sections, displaying not only hundreds of jewels as witnesses of red coral and Cameo (carving) manufacture from 1805 to 1950, but also ancient documents, tools, machinery and pictures to revive and to go on along a journey started 150 years ago.
Gesù Nuovo (Italian New Jesus) is the name of a church and a square in Naples, Italy. They are located just outside the western boundary of the historic center of the city. The existence of the square is a consequence of the expansion of the city to the west beginning in the early 16th century under the rule of Spanish viceroy Pedro Alvarez de Toledo. The square contains three prominent landmarks:
Stadio Giorgio Ascarelli, also known as Stadio Partenopeo, was a multi-use stadium in Naples, Italy. It was used mostly for football matches. The stadium was able to hold 40.000 people. During the 1934 World Cup, it hosted two games. The stadium was destroyed by bombardments during the World War II.
San Gregorio Armeno ("St. Gregory of Armenia") is a church and a monastery in Naples, Italy. It is one of the most important Baroque complexes in Naples.
In the 8th century, the iconoclast decrees in Greece caused a number of religious orders to flee the Byzantine empire and seek refuge elsewhere. San Gregorio Armeno in Naples was built in the 10th century over the remains of a Roman temple dedicated to Ceres, by a group of nuns escaping from the Byzantine Empire with the relics of St. Gregory, bishop of Armenia. During the Norman domination the monastery was united to that of the Salvatore and San Pantaleone, assuming the Benedictine rule.
The construction of the church was begun in 1574 and consecrated five years later. The façade has three arcades surmounted by four pilaster strips in Tuscan order. The interior has a single nave with five side arcades: the decoration, with the exception of the five chapels, was finished by Luca Giordano (also author of the Saints over the windows of the dome) in 1679. Bernardino Lama, likely the son of Giovanni Bernardo Lama, was author of the altarpiece. The interior houses also the famous Holy Staircase, used by the nuns during their penitences.
The cupola was painted with a Glory of San Gregorio by Luca Giordano. The ceiling cassettoni or framed canvases depict the Life of the St Gregorio Armeno and were commissioned by the abbess Beatrice Carafa from the Flemish Teodoro d'Errico. On the right, the altarpieces include an Annunciation of Mary by Pacecco De Rosa, a Virgin of the Rosary by Nicola Malinconico, frescoes by Francesco Di Maria, On the left, is an altarpiece, a St. Benedict, by Spagnoletto. The main altar was designed by Dionisio Lazzari, and has an Ascension by Giovan Bernardo Lama in the presbitery.
The Idria Chapel houses eighteen paintings by Paolo De Matteis, portraying the Life of Mary. Over the chapel's high altar is a medieval icon, in Byzantine style, of the Madonna dell'Idria.
The main attractive is the cloister (1580). In the centre is a marble fountain, decorated with dolphins and other marine creatures, with the statues of "Christ and the Samaritana", by Matteo Bottiglieri.
The Church and Convent of the Girolamini of Gerolamini is a Church and ecclesiastical complex in Naples, Italy. It is located directly across from the Cathedral of Naples on via Duomo. Across the street is the Santa Maria della Colonna.
The first cloister or "chiostro maiolicato" is on the site of an earlier building,the Palazzo Seripando, which was donated to the priests of the Congregation of the Oratory of St. Phillip Neri in 1586. The original building was demolished and construction started on the new structure in 1592 on plans by the Florentine architect Giovanni Antonio Dosio. The much larger second cloister, dating from the 17th Century, is reached from the first and in it are found the entrances to both the "Quadreria" or art collection, previously housed in the sacristy of the Church, and the magnificent library of the Oratorian Fathers, now run by the Italian state. Later architects, such as Ferdinando Fuga who rebuilt the façade in 1780, also worked on the building. The facade statues of St Peter or St Paul were made by Giuseppe Sammartino.
The Church dedicated to the Nativity of the Madonna and All Saints has its principal entrance on the Piazza Girolamini reached from the via Tribunale. It is also the work of Dosio as well as that of Nencioni and is in the style of the Florentine Renaissance: a Latin cross with three naves supported by arcuated colonnades and with lateral chapels. The Church and the convent gallery contain works by Luca Giordano, José de Ribera, Guido Reni, Francesco Solimena, Sassoferrato, Andrea Sabbatini, Francanzano, Beinaschi, and other artists. The lavish gilt ceiling was badly damaged during aerial bombardment in February 1944, but has been partially restored.
The Church and complex take their name from that which was first applied to the priests of the Oratory and which is derived from the Church of San Girolamo della Carita in Rome, where St Philip Neri first established his religious exercises.
The English Cemetery, Il Cimitero degli Inglesi, or more correctly, Il Cimitero acattolico di Santa Maria delle Fede, is located near Piazza Garibaldi, Naples, Italy. It was the final resting place of many Swiss, Germans, Americans, Irish, Scottish and English who lived in Naples, were passing through on the Grand Tour, or were merchants or seamen.
The Villa Pignatelli is a museum in Naples in southern Italy.
The villa is perhaps the most striking building along the Riviera di Chiaia, the road bounding the north side of the Villa Comunale on the sea front between Mergellina and Piazza Vittoria. It was built at the behest of Ferdinand Acton in 1826 as a neo-classical residence that would be the centerpiece of a park. The central atrium was moved to the front of the building and Doric columns still catch the eye of the viewer from the street 50 yards (46 m) away. The property has changed hands since construction. It was bought in 1841 by Carl Mayer von Rothschild of the German family of financiers; then in 1867 it passed to the Duke of Monteleone, Diego Aragona Pignatelli Cortes, whose widow then willed it to the Italian state in 1952. The villa maintains intact the gardens in front of the building and houses a coach museum and a collection of French and English vehicles from the 18th and 19th centuries.
San Domenico Maggiore is a church in Naples, southern Italy, founded by the friars of the Dominican Order, located in the square with the same name. The square is one of the most interesting in Naples and is on the street popularly called "Spaccanapoli" (namely via Benedetto Croce at this particular section of its considerable length) in the historic center of Naples. It was one of the three main east-west streets of the original Greek city of Neapolis.
In the center of the square is an obelisk—a so-called "plague column"—topped by a statue of Saint Dominic, founder of the Dominican Order, erected after the plague of 1656. The original designer of the spire was the Neapolitan architect Cosimo Fanzago. Construction on the spire was started after the plague of 1656 and was finally finished in 1737 under Charles III, the first Bourbon monarch of Naples.
The Church of San Domenico Maggiore incorporates a smaller, original church built on this site in the 10th century, San Michele Arcangelo a Morfisa.
Charles II of Naples began the rebuilding that produced the new Church of San Domenico Maggiore. The work was done between 1283 and 1324, but the church has undergone modifications over the centuries, including one in 1670 that recast the structure in the style of the Baroque. In the 19th century, however, the church was restored to its original Gothic design.
The monastery annexed to the church has been the home of prominent names in the history of religion and philosophy. It was the original seat of the University of Naples, where Thomas Aquinas, a former member of the Dominican community there, returned to teach theology in 1272. On 6 December 1273 in the Chapel of Saint Nicholas after Matins Aquinas lingered and was seen by the sacristan Domenic of Caserta to be levitating in prayer with tears before an icon of the crucified Christ. Christ said to Thomas, "You have written well of me, Thomas. What reward would you have for your labor?" Thomas responded, "Nothing but you Lord."
The philosopher friar and heretic, Giordano Bruno, also lived here at some point.
Artistically, the most notable feature are the frescoes by Pietro Cavallini in the Brancaccio Chapel (1309), depicting Stories of St. John the Evangelist, Crucifixion, Stories of Magdalene and the Apostles Peter, Paul and Andrew.
The sacristy houses a series of 45 sepulchres of members of the royal Aragonese family, including that of King Ferdinand I. The remains of the Blessed Raymond of Capua, a former Master General of the Dominican Order, also rest there.
The term Secret Museum or Secret Cabinet (Gabinetto Segreto) principally refers to the collection of erotic or sexually explicit finds from Pompeii, held in separate galleries in the Naples National Archaeological Museum, Naples, Italy, the former Museo Borbonico. The British Museum also contained secret rooms.
Throughout ancient Pompeii, erotic frescoes, depictions of the god Priapus, sexually explicit symbols, inscriptions, and even household items (such as phallic oil lamps) were found. Ancient Roman culture had a different sense of shame for sexuality, and viewed sexually explicit material very differently to most present-day cultures. Ideas about obscenity developed from the 18th century to the present day into a modern concept of pornography. Although the excavation of Pompeii was initially an Enlightenment project, once artifacts were classified through a new method of taxonomy, those deemed obscene and unsuitable for the general public were termed pornography and in 1821 they were locked away in a Secret Museum. For good measure, the doorway was bricked up in 1849. At Pompeii, locked metal cabinets were constructed over erotic frescos, which could be shown, for a modest additional fee, to gentlemen but not to ladies. This peep show was still in operation at Pompeii in the 1960s. The cabinet was only accessible to "people of mature age and respected morals", which in practice meant only educated males. The catalogue of the secret museum was also a form of censorship, where engravings and descriptive texts played down the content of the room.
The excavation of Pompeii was important to a range of powerful, and often conflicting, interests who saw the discovery of Pompeii as validating their own view of history, but at the same time excluded anything that did not fit the preferred model. Later Benito Mussolini saw the excavation of Pompeii as validating the continuity of a Nova Roma. The presence of sexually explicit material, however, was problematic.
Re-opened, closed, re-opened again and then closed again for nearly a hundred years, the secret room was briefly made accessible again at the end of the 1960s before being finally re-opened in the year 2000. Since 2005, the collection is kept in a separate room in the Naples National Archaeological Museum.
San Pietro a Majella is a church in Naples, Italy. The term may also refer to the adjacent Naples music conservatory, which occupies the premises of the monastery that used to form a single complex with the church.
The church stands at the western end of Via dei Tribunali, one of the three parallel streets that define the grid of the historic center of Naples; the church is considered one of the most significant examples of Angevin architecture in Naples and was built at the wishes of Giovanni Pippino da Barletta, one of the knights of Charles II of Anjou and the one responsible for destroying the last Saracen colony on the southern peninsula, in Lucera.
San Pietro a Majella was built in the early 14th century and was named for and dedicated to Pietro Angeleri da Morone, a hermit monk from Maiella (near Sulmona) who became Pope Celestine V in 1294. He was the founder of the Celestine monastic order, which occupied the church until 1799, when monasteries were suppressed by the Neapolitan Republic. After the restoration of the monarchy, the monastery was reopened, but in 1826 was converted to house the San Pietro a Maiella Conservatory, a function it preserves. The church underwent restoration in the 1930s and remains an open and active house of worship.
As was the case with much Angevin architecture in Naples, San Pietro a Majella underwent a Baroque make-over by the Spanish in the 17th century, but 20th-century restoration attempted to "undo" that and to restore the building to its original Gothic appearance. Much of the art work within the church is dedicated to various phases in the life of the monk Pietro and then Pope Celestine V. The nave and transep ceilings are frescoed by Mattia Preti.
The Biblioteca nazionale Vittorio Emanuele III (Victor Emmanuel III National Library) is a national library of Italy. It occupies the eastern wing of the 18th century Palazzo Reale in Naples, at 1 Piazza del Plebiscito, and has entrances from piazza Trieste e Trento. It is funded and organised by the Direzione Generale per i Beni Librari and the Ministero per i Beni e le Attività Culturali.
In quantitative terms it is the third largest library in Italy, after the national libraries in Rome and Florence, with 1,480,747 printed volumes, 319,187 pamphlets, 18,415 manuscripts, more than 8,000 periodicals, 4,500 incunabula and the 1,800 Herculaneum papyri.
The Cuomo Palace (Italian: Palazzo Cuomo) is a museum in Naples, southern Italy. Its Renaissance ashlar facade opens to Via Duomo, just north of the intersection of Corso Umberto, the boulevard that runs through the downtown area.
It was built between 1464 and 1490 by Tuscan artisans for the Neapolitan merchant Angelo Cuomo, a favorite at the Aragonese court. Thus, the building is known as the Cuomo Palace. It was sold in 1587 and was incorporated into an adjacent monastery. In 1881-82, because of the demolition and construction during the urban renewal of Naples, the entire building was dismantled and moved back some 20 meters. Since that date, the building has housed the Filangieri Museum. The museum displays an assortment of arms, porcelain and period costumes. The museum is closed for repairs and many of the exhibits are temporarily on display in the Maschio Angioino.
The Archbishop's Palace (in Italian: Palazzo Arcivescovile) is a building in Naples, Italy. It is the official residence of the Roman Catholic archbishop and cardinal of Naples (as of May, 2006 — Crescenzio Sepe). The building is located on the square largo Donna Regina one block north of the Cathedral of Naples directly across from the church of Donna Regina Nuova. Together, the cathedral and the Archbishop's Palace form a vast, connected complex.
The original structure was built in 1389 at the wishes of cardinal Errico Capece Minutolo on the site of an old early Christian basilica. The building that one sees today, however, is largely the result of reconstruction and expansion of the premises under cardinal Ascanio Filomarino, completed in 1654. That reconstruction was most probably the work of architect Bonaventuri Presti. The expansion included the clearing of the area directly in front of the building to create a small open square between the Archbishop's Palace and the church of Donna Regina Nuova. The building has an elongated shape and is marked by three stone portals.
Camaldoli is a frazione of the comune of Poppi, in Tuscany, Italy. It is mostly known as the ancestral seat of the Camaldolese monastic order, originated in the eponymous hermitage, which can still be visited.
The Albergo Reale dei Poveri (Italian Bourbon Hospice for the Poor), also called il Reclusorio, is a former public hospital/almshouse in Naples, southern Italy. It was designed by the architect Ferdinando Fuga, and construction was started in 1751. It is five storeys tall and about 300 m (980 ft) long. It was popularly known as "Palazzo Fuga". King Charles III of the House of Bourbon meant the facility to house the destitute and ill, as well as to provide a self-sufficient community where the poor would live, learn trades, and work. The massive structure at one time housed over 5000 persons, men and women, in separate wings The building was originally designed with five courtyards and a church in the centre, entered through the central arch, but only the three innermost courtyards were built, and plans to complete the building according to the original design were finally abandoned in 1819. The building is the centre of Naples, which is included in UNESCO World Heritage List.
It is no longer a hospital, and despite the impressive facade, it has suffered much from neglect and earthquakes. The centre behind the entrance is used for exhibitions, conferences, and concerts. Recently (2006) the façade has undergone restoration as part of an as yet ill-defined plan to incorporate the facility into the working infrastructure of public buildings in Naples.
The Madre del Buon Consiglio (or Basilica dell'Incoronata Madre del Buon Consiglio or Maria del Buon Consiglio) (Italian: Uncrowned Mother of Good Counsel) is a Roman Catholic church in Naples, southern Italy. It is located on the hillside leading up to the Capodimonte palace and art museum and is visible from many quarters of the city.
The Church of Santa Maria di Costantinopoli is a 16th century church in Naples, southern Italy, located on the street of the same name.
Its name is allied to the cult of St. Mary of Constantinople, which rose to prominence in 1527-1528, during one of the frequent attacks of plague afflicting the city. In this time, an apparition of the Virgin to an elderly pleaded for the construction of a church where her image stood on a wall.
Construction began in 1575, and continued till completion in the first years of the 17th century under the intervention of the Dominican architect Giuseppe Nuvolo. The façade was completed in 1633. The design is generally conservative with a central linear nave and two aisles, each with five chapels.
The interior was decorated in stucco by Domenico Antonio Vaccaro; the vaulting uses gilded wood. The chapel entries have carved lintelpieces by Niccolò Tagliacozzi Canale (1728).
The first chapel on the right has an altarpiece of the Madonna of the Purity (17th century); the fourth chapel has a relief of the Martyrdom of St. Bartholemew (c. 1585) by the Flemish painter Aert Mytens. The high altar was designed in polychrome marble by Cosimo Fanzago. It frames the 15th century fresco of Santa Maria di Costantinopoli; above it is a relief of God the father and to the side are statues of saints Rocco and Sebastian.
The apse lunette was decorated by Belisario Corenzio with a fresco of the Virgin & John the Baptist pleading with the Trinity to liberate Naples from the plague. The arches hold images of prophets and sybils.
Sant'Angelo a Nilo is a church in Naples, Italy. It is known for containing the monumental tomb of Cardinal Rainaldo Brancacci (Italian: Sepolcro del Cardinale Brancacci) by Donatello and Michelozzo, one of the major sculptural works in the city.
The Camaldolese Hermitage of Monte Giove is a monastery near Naples, Campania, Italy.
One of the monasteries still active in the region, it sits on the hill in back of Naples at the highest point in the city, between Vesuvius and the Phlegrean Fields. It was built in 1585 by the Camaldolese congregation of Monte Corona on the site of an earlier church. The large altar in the church is the work of Cosimo Fanzago, and there are numerous prized paintings by such artists as Francesco Francanzano and Giordano. Part of the monastery is open to the public, who may occasionally visit the gardens overlooking the city to the south.
Santa Maria Donna Regina Nuova is a church in Naples, in southern Italy. It is called Nuova ("new") to distinguish it from the older church of Santa Maria Donna Regina Vecchia.
The earliest church was built on this location in the 14th century. However, in 1616-27 a new edifice was built by the architect Giovanni Guarino for the nuns of the annexed convent of the same name. Originally the monastery and the church were connected by a passage between the tribune of the new church and the apse of the old one, but this was eliminated by the 1928-34 restoration.
The façade presents a wide 17th-century staircase, and houses two stucco statues portraying St. Andrew and St. Bartholomew. The interior has a single nave with six side chapels and a rich Baroque marble decoration. The ceiling has a large fresco (1654) by Francesco de Benedictis. The sides of the apse have frescoes by Francesco Solimena portraying histories of St. Francis.
In the first chapel on the right are frescoes by Antonio Guastaferro; the second chapel has frescoes on the wall and ceiling by Tommaso Fasano; the third chapel has marble decoration by Gaetano Sacco based on a design by Giovan Domenico Vinaccia and frescoes by Fasano and Solimena. In the first chapel on the left are canvases by Charles Mellin; In the other chapels are the left are more painting by Fasano.
The altar was built by Giovanni Ragozzino based on a design by Solimena; it is flanked by an altarpiece by Luca Giordano. The dome was frescoed by Agostino Beltrano.
The ante-sacristy was decorated with stucco and frescoes by Santolo Cirillo. The sacristy has paintings by Massimo Stanzione and Charles Mellin, and two still lives from the 16th century.
Santa Caterina a Chiaia (also known as Santa Caterina martire) is a church in Naples, Italy. It is located near Piazza dei Martiri in the Chiaia section of the city.
The church was built originally as a small family chapel by the Forti family and then ceded to the Franciscan order, which expanded it by 1600. The church that ones sees today, however, is the result of a series of remodelings, including one as late as 1732 in the wake of a serious earthquake in that year. The facade is characterized by a representation of the Martyrdom of Saint Catherine of Alexandria. The main entrance is marked by a plaque commemorating a restoration of the facade in 1904. Art work in the interior is mostly dedicated to the life of Saint Catherine, including a prominent dome display by Gustavo Girosi from 1916.
Sant’Eligio Maggiore is a church in Naples, southern Italy. It is located near Piazza Mercato (Market Square), and was built during the reign of Charles of Anjou by the same congregation that built the nearby Sant’Eligio hospital in 1270. It is the first church built in Naples by the Angevin dynasty.
Little remains today of the original structure. The arched passageway that opens onto Piazza Mercato is through the original façade of the church and has since been incorporated into the structure of the ancient hospital. Many of the lines of the original structure came to light in the course of restoration after the bombardments of the World War II.
Santa Caterina a Formiello is a church in Naples, in southern Italy, located at the extreme eastern end of the old historic center of the city, near the gate called Porta Capuana. The term Formiello comes from the forms or containers for water spouts found in the convent.
It was founded about 1510, designed by Antonio Fiorentino Cava, and completed in 1593. The church was one of the first to introduce domes to Neapolitan churches. The church is dedicated to the virgin and martyred Saint of Alexandria. It constituted an important part of an ancient convent that originally belonged to the Celestine order and which passed to the Dominican fathers after 1498. They kept it until the 19th century, when it became used as a wool factory.
The church has a single-aisle Latin cross interior covered by a barrel vault with five chapels on either side. The Roman Mannerist painter, Luigi Garzi, painted the large picture on the counterfacade. He also painted the triangles above the arches of the chapels, the corbels of the dome, and the great vault of the nave. The dome was painted by Paolo de Matteis. The ceilings of the chapels have frescoes by Guglielmo Borremans; the choir decorations and painting were by Gaetano Brandi.
The main altar was commissioned by the Spinelli family of Cariati, to whom also belong the tombs that encircle it. The funereal monuments were completed by Scilla and Giannotto, two Milanese sculptors. On the wall, beside the altar is a Virgin with St Thomas Acquinas by Francesco Curia. A chapel on the other side has a canvas of St Dominic defeats the Albigensian Heretics by Giacomo del Po: the statues are by Columbo Napolitano. <refLuigi d' Afflitto, page 121.</ref>
In the first chapel, all the paintings dedicated to St Catherine of Alessandria are by Giacomo del Po, The Visitation is painted by Garzi. In the chapel next to that, of St James, are collected the ashes of 240 Martyrs of Otranto, that Alfonso II of Aragon had moved to Naples in 1574. The Epiphany is by Silvestro Buono, and the Circumcision is by Paolo de Matteis. The Conversion of St. Paul is Marco da Siena. The S. Vincenzo Ferreri was painted by Santolo Cirillo.
Stadio Arturo Collana is a football stadium in Naples, Italy; it is located in the Vomero area of the city. The stadium was built in the latter part of the 1920s, originally under the name Stadio XXVIII Ottobre.
S.S.C. Napoli were official tenants of the stadium during the 1933-34 season onwards, as their stadium Stadio Giorgio Ascarelli was having problems. After the Second World War it was for a time renamed Stadio della Liberazione; Napoli would continue using it until moving to their current home of Stadio San Paolo in 1959.
Since the 1960s a club from Naples called Internapoli have played at the stadium. It was completely restructured in 1970 and has become a multi-use sports center where athletics, football and rugby games are carried out.
The stadium was also used by S.S.C. Campania Ponticelli before moving to Pozzuoli.
The Real Teatro di San Carlo (English: Royal Theatre of Saint Charles) is an opera house in Naples, Italy. It is located adjacent to the central Piazza del Plebiscito, and connected to the Royal Palace. It is the oldest continuously active venue for public opera in Europe, opening decades before both the Milanese La Scala and Venetian La Fenice theaters.
Naples International Airport (IATA: NAP, ICAO: LIRN) (Italian: Aeroporto Internazionale di Napoli, official name: Ugo Niutta) is the airport serving Naples, Italy. It is located 3.2 NM (5.9 km; 3.7 mi) north-northeast of the city in the Capodichino district of Naples. The airport has two terminal buildings: Terminal 1 is for departing travellers and Terminal 2, located away from the airfield, is used for charter operations. The airport is operated by GE.S.A.C., a corporation partially owned by the British airport company BAA.
Naples, with a metropolitan population of nearly three million is the largest metropolitan area of Europe which does not serve as a hub nor secondary hub of any airline.
The airport management company is fully responsible for managing the airport and co-ordinating and control activities of all the private operators present in the airport. Capodichino hosts some aeronautical industrial activities, like Atitech, Alenia Aeronautica, Aeronavali, Tecnam Costruzioni Aeronautiche. The airport is still today a military air base (Italian Air Force 5° Maintenance, Repair & Overhaul Unit - United States Naval Support Activity Naples Support Base and Air Terminal).